Oh just shut up Kweli

http://www.allhiphop.com/stories/editorial/archive/2010/06/10/22262244.aspx

Kweli goes in on the whole Slim Thug situation here and to be honest I couln’t even be bothered to read all of it so I just skim read it this isn’t the first time Kweli had an opinion on rappers being criticised remember when he defended Jay Z and Kanye West when people said they were illuminati (which they fucking are).

Just shut up Kweli no one gives a fuck what you think Slim Thug is a grown ass man I know it’s hard to fathom that when he has a name like Slim Thug but he is and he’s older enough to know that what he said was some pure ignorant shit like something out of an episode of Boondocks (uncle rukus no relation).

Don’t  feel the need to defend this idiot because he represents hip hop. All this guy represents to me is stupidity, another wack rapper with a big chain who thinks he is more important than he is talking about shit he had absolutely no idea about. Don’t be surprised either if he’s just stirring up controversy for this next album that’s how desperate these faggots are now they know their 15 minutes is about to be up in a minute and they are trying to survive the only way they can.

So Kweli just shut the fuck up have a coke and smile and be on your merry way nothing to see here.

This woman Jennifer McLune wrote in her article “Hip Hop’s Betrayal of Black Women” that

The most well-known artists who represent an underground and conscious force in hip-hop like Common, The Roots, Talib Kweli and others remain inconsistent, apologetic and even eager to join the mainstream player’s club. Even though fans like me support them because of their moments of decency toward women, they often want to remain on the fence by either playing down their consciousness, or by offering props to misogynistic rappers. Most so-called conscious artists appear to care more about their own acceptance by mainstream artists than wanting to make positive changes in the culture.

Hip-hop artists like Talib Kweli and Common market themselves as conscious alternatives, yet they remain passive in the face of unrelenting woman-hating bravado from mainstream artists. They are willing to lament in abstract terms the state of hip-hop, but refuse to name names unless it’s to reassure their mainstream brethren that they have nothing but love for their music.

I think she might be right on the money.

Also I remember this piece a while back written by someone who just calls herself “Revolution Mary” entitled “Don’t Let the Name Fool you: Misogyny in Conscious Rap here’s what she had to say about a show that she saw Kweli perform at.

I tried to regroup from the disappointing I love myself and hip hop buzz-kill that Sly Boogie induced. I was sure that Talib Kweli would bring that old feeling back. He’ll make it so I can regain that I love myself and hip hop high I had just a few hours earlier. I thought to myself, I can count on Kweli to remind everyone that we women are Beautiful, like he and MJB said. He’ll tell those other MCs to respect this Brown Skin Lady. Yeah, I thought, my boy Talib will bring it back to Love, not the love, which everybody hides behind, saying they do it for the love, which implies the love of the culture, the music, or the love of hip hop. No, Talib will bring it back to plain ole love. Love shared between people, for each other, and for ourselves. Kweli will bring it back and end the show by restoring that feel-good vibe—the I love myself and hip hop feeling that’s so hard for me to hold on to these days.

Sway welcomed him to the stage and the crowd seemed as ready as I was…to get “Back to Basics”. But who was Talib’s hype man, and why was he completely ruining my Kweli experience? He was this rising comedian/actor, and it’s probably a good thing I can’t remember his name because if I could, I’d probably return The Hate U Gave!!! As Talib took a water break, ‘dude’ proceeded to rant on and on about how “there ain’t no love”. He said, “if you gonna love something, love your money” (a sentiment I heard far too many times throughout the night). He continued, “cause women are shady!” Whaaat?! “ Women are sneaky!” he said. “They’re conniving! So @#%$ love! Put your “L”s in the air for ‘life’, cause there ain’t no love!” I couldn’t believe it! While the crowd had their life-not-love “L”s up, I had my left hand, middle finger up.

It was a reactionary gesture on my part, I admit, so I clenched my hand into a fist as an act of defiance, resistance, and disapproval of what he was doing. My clenched fist was also a subliminal call to Kweli to get back on the mic and defend, protect and console me like he does in his music…But he didn’t. He just laughed and continued the show as he shrank back into a mere mortal in my once admiring eyes.

I left the show with that uncomfortable feeling that I’ve been trying for years to ignore; that I hate hip hop feeling. Why? Because apparently hip hop hates me. How am I, as a woman, a Black woman, with a keen third-eye, self-respect, and a value for the true essence of hip hop culture, supposed to embrace an art that poisons me? How can I love an art—and the artists who create it—that don’t want to love me back? How is it that I can contribute consistently to an artists’ livelihood by spending my money on their product and buying tickets to their shows, yet they don’t even honor the reason why I support them in the first place?

Frankly, I’m tired of having my love of hip hop used against me. Tired of collaborating with rappers in their disrespect of women by my support of them and their music, and I know other women (and revolutionary men) are tired of it too. I would venture to guess that women are Talib Kweli’s biggest support base. What if all of a sudden we said, no more? Would MCs then start begging the question “where’s the love” then?

I’m not suggesting any sort of boycott of Talib Kweli. This experience doesn’t mean I’m no longer a fan, and will stop supporting him. But it does mean that I’m disappointed because I know he knows better, and as a consistent buyer of his music, I feel at liberty to tell him what I think. If hip hop is a community, if it is about unity, then I think we all need to step up and check each other more often. Women need to speak up and say when @#%$ ain’t cool. As consumers of rap music and as members of the hip hop family, we have that right. Fellas need to call each other out too, like I was expecting Talib to do to his hype man. Really it’s simple. Like the purpose of the tour, it’s time…to bring it “Back to Basics” and make hip hop a communal conversation again. I know I’m not the only woman who is unwilling to be seen and not heard.

Published in: on June 11, 2010 at 9:50 am  Leave a Comment  
Tags: ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://allinthagame.wordpress.com/2010/06/11/oh-just-shut-up-kweli/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

